former Standing Council on Environment and Water

(incorporating the National Environment Protection Council)

Senior Officials Group

On 13 December 2013, COAG replaced its 22 Standing Councils, Select Councils and governance fora with a set of eight Councils and the decision saw the revocation of the Standing Council on Environment and Water. Work is currently underway to resolve how its existing work would be handled in the future. In the interim, this website is currently maintained for historical purposes and is scheduled for archiving.

A new website for the National Environment Protection Council is being developed.


The Senior Officials Group (SOG) supports the Council in its work. SOG is chaired by the Secretary of the Commonwealth department with responsibility for the environment.

SOG incorporates the NEPC Committee which deals exclusively with the statutory obligations of Council under NEPC.

SOG Members

Senior Officials Group (SOG) Jurisdiction National Environment Protection
Council Committee (NEPCC)
Dr Gordon de Brouwer (CHAIR) Commonwealth Dr Gordon de Brouwer 
Mr Malcolm Thompsom (Deputy)
Mr Terry Bailey
Mr Barry Buffier
New South Wales Mr Barry Buffier
Mr Mark Gifford (Deputy)
Mr Adam Fennessy Victoria Mr John Merritt
Mr Adam Fennessy (Deputy)
Mr Paul Smith (Deputy)
Mr Jon Black Queensland Mr Tony Roberts
Mr Alan Holmes
Dr Campbell Gemmell
South Australia Dr Campbell Gemmell
Mr Tony Circelli (Deputy)
Mr Jason Banks
Ms Maree de Lacey
Western Australia TBA
Mr Kim Evans Tasmania Mr Alex Schaap
Ms Dorte Ekeland Australian Capital Territory TBA
Mr Daniel Walters (Deputy)
Dr William Freeland
Mr Rod Applegate
Northern Territory Dr William Freeland
Mr Rod Applegate
Dr Paul Reynolds New Zealand  
Mr John Pritchard Australian Local Government Association